Skip to content

Phase Changes in Hunting, March 19, 2012

March 15, 2012

Detailed gun cleaning and repair is one of the many tasks to get done between hunting seasons.

This show may be heard  following its broadcast date by clicking on the following link:  http://webtalkradio.net/shows/hoveys-outdoor-adventures/. If it is not the current show, it is still  available as an archived show and on iTunes.  

  The weeks between the close of deer and waterfowl seasons and the opening of turkey season are the time to “fix up and put up” our gear, least we, like an early Renaissance composer, be crushed to death when our mountains of  gear collapse on us. In his case he was flattened by his own books. We are in more danger of  being tripped up by, stumbling over or being impaled by some inconveniently placed objects while we search through our piles trying to find something that we know we have “somewhere.” 

  Decoys are probably my worst offender, if for no other reason than there are so many of them. Take them out, restring those that need it, put on new weights and hang from the rafters or  stack them in a corner of a shed until next season.  After all,you need the floor space to make room for all of your turkey hunting  junk.

  As I hunt most often with muzzleloading guns, I shoot, clean and repair these. This year I undressed and cleaned Cantank, a .45-caliber flintlock rifle. You can see the details of this in a video “Cleaning a Kentucky Rifle” at: http://youtu.be/cbxxyn_74D8. I also repaired the fiber optic sights on another muzzleloader, put a new ramrod tip on a third, a scope on another and got a CVA Optima .50-caliber pistol outfitted with a red-dot sight for hog hunting.

  You remembered those boat motors that I could not get started last Spring? I took them to Burns Outboard Service, Inc. in Rincon, Georgia, near Savannah. On this show I interview owner Brian Burns about outboard repair,  keeping these engines operating in salt water and got some useful tips about preventative maintainance. Look for later bowfishing episodes using these engines.

Charles Eddins with power saber saw and drill.

These weeks are also the time to bring  home fix-up jobs to  conclusion. I received a letter from my insurance company of 40-odd years informing me that I had a brief period to put rails around my porch and install a stair rail on the front steps or they would cancel my policy. I special ordered a vinyl rail kit from my home-town building supplier, got it in time and put it up with the considerable help of my brother-in-law. I made the stair rail from 1 1/4-inch galvanized pipe which I was able to get locally and have cut and threaded.  The associated videos  are  “Installing Vinyl Porch Railings”  and  “Building a Pipe Stair Rail”  at: http://youtu.be/S3AQgXg1gEk. I have a few words to say about the insurance company on my show.  It was not so much that I objected to doing it (The house does look better.), it was the threat implied in the letter that gave me offense and the short time that I had to do the work made things unnecessarially costly.

New vinyl railings on porch and 1 1/4-in. pipe railings were installed with the help of my brother-in-law Charles Eddins. The porch took 5 1/2-hours to custom cut and fit.

  Working on these projects prohibited me from doing some hog hunting and attending the 45th. Annual Claxton Rattlesnake Roundup, whose quaint practices I describe on the show.  Nothing like a little snake handling before lunch to whet the appetite. I do not have any particular problems with snakes, although we have ample numbers of them. They do cause problems with biting my dogs, but all five that I have had bitten survived without treatment. The treatment is risky, and I cannot afford it anyway. One pointer went blind after being  bitten four times. Nonetheless, he still found his way around, hunted and was the best tracking dog that I had.

Auntie Thresa Claus

  This was also the time to bring to conclusion some cultural projects, like a new Christmas play, “A Visit from Auntie Thresa Claus,” that I wrote in 2009. This was read on my Christmas Show in December, 2010, and you can listen to the entire show or just hear the 2009 version of  the story on YouTube as “Audio Reading: A Visit from Auntie Thresa Claus.”   I started a Kickstarter launch on March 1 which will end on April 3, 2012 to stage the play and make a video. Kickstarter allows a creative person to post a project,  set a funding goal and a campaign period. If sufficient money is not raised,  neither the originator nor those who pledge are billed.  This allows a person to “test drive” a project to see if there is sufficient national support to advance it. My funding goal is $10,000. Backers can contribute as little as $1.00, and all will receive a reward. Those sending $25.00 will get a signed print of Auntie Thresa Claus and large contributors may even go on a deer or turkey hunt with me here at Whitehall. Go to: http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/hoveysmith/a-visit-from-auntie-thresa-claus for details. You will also find a short video about the play, a brief description of the revised plot and a bit of biographical information. I am nowhere near reaching my goal, and everyone’s help is needed.  

 

Rutabaga greens and roots ready to make a fine meal.

 The cooking segment of this show features “Cooking Home-Grown Rutabagas” where both the green tops and  roots are cooked. These are quite different from the almost bowling-ball tough waxed roots most frequently seen in the store, and the tops are between turnips and spinach in taste. Not only do I enjoy the fresh greens and the roots, but my dogs also eat them with enthusiasm. View “Cooking Home-Grown Rutabagas” at: http://youtu.be/IfgaCjDAh7w.

  Ads this week are from Buy Cheap, Make Cheap, Sell Cheap, Inc. whose new division advises insurance companies on how to increase profits by doing home inspections and demanding costly repairs to force older policy holders to drop their policies or do the repairs. Either way, the company’s risk is reduced. SIN, Inc., Industrial Non-Nutritives, Inc., in honor of St. Patrick’s Day, introduces a special all Irish green selection where everything on the table is formed of their base product, Glop, and colored emerald green which gives the diner the butter, salt and sugar taste that they crave with products having no known nutritional value.   

 
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

